More Than Anything….

6F035E62-F58A-46F0-86CA-863A30549131-e1517189945668

This world is tough, isn’t it? Life is full of surprises, twists, and turns that we can’t handle alone. That’s why it’s crucial that we keep our focus on Jesus. But I think that we sometimes get sidetracked by the things we need help with in this life. Our time spent with God becomes seeking Him for what He can do for us rather than just seeking Him to know Him more and to be closer to Him. Although knowing that we need Him for these things can draw us nearer, that’s not what it’s all about.

What we have to remember is anything that I could possibly need Jesus to do for me, He has already done. Whether in life or in death, in richness or poverty, in health or in sickness, in sadness or bliss; it doesn’t matter where my situation goes from there… I know that Jesus died on the cross in exchange for my life, and no matter what I face on this earth, I will be with Him when it all ends, forever.

That alone makes every trial that I can think of seem minuscule. It’s all a speck in time. So although God undoubtedly commands us to pray and make our requests known to Him (Philippians 4:6), we must look beyond our requests; beyond self, and look to the beauty of who God is rather than the ugliness that we face.

Psalm‬ ‭27:1-4‬ ‭   “The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked advance against me to devour me, it is my enemies and my foes who will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then I will be confident. One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.”

Philippians‬ ‭4:6   “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” 

 

Lord, You are all I need. You are my heart’s desire, my heart’s song, my life, my love, my reason. My eyes are fixed on You because You are “I Am”. When I am faced with trials, help me to focus on You. It’s my desire to love You more than saving myself. Please help me love You more than anything. Amen 

Listen to More Than Anything HERE

 

 

About Mariah Chance

Hey everyone! I'm Mariah and I am a Senior at Thomas Edison State studying music. I am a Christian, and I'm living my life for the Lord everyday! :) My passion for music has grown massively over the years, I've been singing for 18 years, playing acoustic guitar for 15 years. I play piano, percussion and I also play keyboard. Music for me is a release of stress and everything in my life that is very difficult, and because of that I have chosen becoming a worship leader as my career. I love music and I want to help bring people and lead them in worship to the Lord. I will be receiving my BA degree in Music in April of 2020. I was raised in a very musical family. My mom sings and my dad plays the piano and guitar. As I said I'm living my life for the Lord everyday and following His plan for my life. And one of my most favorite songs that I've come to absolutely love is a song called "Joy" by Housefires. Here are the lyrics: "Joy" by: Housefires "There's beauty in my brokenness, I've got true love instead of pain. There's freedom though you've captured me, I've got joy instead of mourning. You give me joy, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul. Never been so free caught in your love for me, never been more secure knowing your heart Lord. You give me joy down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul." Have a fantastic day! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment