Refreshing Your Soul

19511498_10158974546920055_3561719157233549581_n

“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (Matthew 19:14 NIV) 

Have you ever watched little kids worship? They don’t care who’s watching or who thinks they look weird, they just worship the Lord with all they have. I love seeing little ones worship because you’re able to see life from a completely different perspective. They don’t yet have the mindset of us adults, as we go about our day and criticize those who are doing things different, or when we worship we are constantly looking around to see if others are watching us thinking we look weird.

Little kids have the heart of wreck less abandon. They have the ability to let go of their doubts, their false examples, their small realities, and exercise their God-given imaginations, at the same time while exercising their faith. Being imaginative like a child gives us the help we need to see that there is more than what meets the eye. It can help us see that anything is possible in a world where God is in control. It allows us to engage more deeply into the Story of God and our place in it. And it is a necessary component of childlike faith.

It refreshes my soul to see these little ones go through life and their daily lives with such unending joy and innocence about them. They are always excited for what’s next and always looking for the bright side in every situation, good or bad. We as adults, can learn so much from just watching children on a daily basis. Their love for pretty much anything and everything is infectious, but the one thing that always pulls me right into them is their heart for God. As soon as I see that one tiny 5 year old child raise their hand in worship or when I see them dance around to the songs we sing, now that my friends is contagious!

My encouragement to you is to start living your life like a child. Start living like they live, with unending joy and a huge heart for God. To help you see where I’m coming from, listen to this song posted below, called “Joy.” This song for me, instantly gets me excited and when I watch the people in the video dance around, that’s what gets me moving. BUT, the crazy thing is, I don’t do that in church. Why? Well because like I said earlier, we as adults are constantly looking around to see if people are watching us.

So let’s start dancing or doing whatever brings us joy when we worship and NOT CARING what people think we look like! Amen?!

So click on the link below, and enjoy this video. Thanks so much for reading friends, have a great day!

JOY by Housefires

About Mariah Chance

Hey everyone! I'm Mariah and I am a Senior at Thomas Edison State studying music. I am a Christian, and I'm living my life for the Lord everyday! :) My passion for music has grown massively over the years, I've been singing for 18 years, playing acoustic guitar for 15 years. I play piano, percussion and I also play keyboard. Music for me is a release of stress and everything in my life that is very difficult, and because of that I have chosen becoming a worship leader as my career. I love music and I want to help bring people and lead them in worship to the Lord. I will be receiving my BA degree in Music in April of 2020. I was raised in a very musical family. My mom sings and my dad plays the piano and guitar. As I said I'm living my life for the Lord everyday and following His plan for my life. And one of my most favorite songs that I've come to absolutely love is a song called "Joy" by Housefires. Here are the lyrics: "Joy" by: Housefires "There's beauty in my brokenness, I've got true love instead of pain. There's freedom though you've captured me, I've got joy instead of mourning. You give me joy, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul. Never been so free caught in your love for me, never been more secure knowing your heart Lord. You give me joy down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul, down deep in my soul." Have a fantastic day! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment